Nous avons remarqué que vous utilisez un navigateur non reconnu. Il se peut que les pages de TripAdvisor ne s'affichent pas correctement.
Notre site est optimisé pour les navigateurs suivants:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Calypso Condo, Luxury on the Water at Gentle Winds

Christiansted
|
Appartement de copropriété/Appartement – 
3 Chambres, 3 salles de bains, 8 couchages

Avis des voyageurs TripAdvisor

Contribuez à la communauté de voyageurs TripAdvisor et aidez les autres voyageurs à trouver la location de vacances parfaite
Écrivez un avis

Avis des voyageurs TripAdvisor

Date | Note
  • Anglais en 1er
  • Français en 1er
  • Toutes
  • Derniers résultats en français
Français en 1er
Dawn P
Avon Lake, Ohio
1 avis
“Calypso condo stay was paradise!!!”
5 5 étoiles Avis écrit le 1 juillet 2014 Séjour en juin 2014
Google Traduction

We recently returned from a weeks vacation to St. Croix where we stayed at Calypso Condo C-2 in the gated community of Gentle Winds and had a fabulous time!!! The condo was immaculate upon arrival and Angela, the unit manager, stocked us with some groceries I requested so we didn't have to go out at night when we first arrived. There were six of us and with the three bedrooms, three bathrooms, three balconies and the loft area we did not feel crowded. Barbara, the owner, thought of everything to make our stay enjoyable and a home away from home. The book Life in the Left Lane, the bottle of champagne in the fridge, the starfish necklaces and the gift certificate to the Snack shack were complimentary gifts to us for staying there. It was a vey nice finishing touch by Barbara and very much appreciated. The kitchen was very well-equipped. There were so many books, Wii games, VHS movies, DVDs, and board games for all ages to choose from. It was nice having a grill to cookout on since we don't always like to eat out and as we found out food in St. Croix is expensive. I would definitely come back to St. Croix and stay at Calypso Condo again in a heartbeat !!!! The view was breathtaking, the beach gorgeous and the pool refreshing. The grounds at Gentle Winds were beautifully kept and the people there including the guard, the groundskeepers, and the woman who ran the Snack Shack were very polite. Staying there in early June had its benefits. I truly felt we had the whole place to ourselves. Besides us there were maybe 6 units out of 65 that were occupied at the time. No fighting for chaise lounges at the beach or pool.. A nice perk of the off season. Before leaving for St. Croix Barbara made sure we had directions from the airport to the condo and how to access the lockbox should the unit be locked. She also stressed checking out her website which had extremely helpful tips and suggestions one should know before arriving. I was also impressed that early on in our stay Barbara called and sent me an email checking in with us to see that everything was going well. We did so many fun activities while in St. Croix- stand up paddle boarding , snorkeling, kayaking, relaxing on the beach, shopping in Christiansted, touring the Cruzan Rum Factory, watching the sunset at Off the Wall restaurant while playing bingo and watching the sunrise at Point Udall. Needless to say we were all very sad to leave but have so many fond memories and beautiful pictures.

Compagnons de voyage : Teenagers
Recommanderiez-vous cet hôtel à un ami ?    Oui.
Cet avis vous a-t-il été utile ? Oui
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un membre de TripAdvisor et non de TripAdvisor LLC.
Réponse de la direction
13 juil. 2014
Having your unit pre-stocked with groceries is very convenient isn't it? I'll let Angela, our housekeeper, know that her exceptional cleaning efforts were noticed. Thanks for the review.
Cette réponse est l'opinion subjective du représentant de la direction et non de TripAdvisor LLC
Intéressé(e) par cet établissement ?
Faire une demande
Gary
TX
5 5 étoiles Avis écrit le 5 mai 2014 Séjour en avril 2014
Google Traduction
4 5 étoiles Rapport qualité / prix 5 5 étoiles Chambres
5 5 étoiles Emplacement 5 5 étoiles Propreté
5 5 étoiles Réception 5 5 étoiles Service
Recommanderais-je cette Location de vacances à mon meilleur ami?  
Cet avis vous a-t-il été utile ? Oui
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un voyageur et non de TripAdvisor LLC ou de ses partenaires.
Réponse de la direction
05 mai 2014
So glad we exceeded expectations based on previous rentals. Angela, our housekeeper, will be especially pleased to hear that you made a point of commenting on cleanliness. Keeping an almost 2000 square foot unit right next to the beach clean and bright is a real challenge. Angela even washes the salt off of the screens each time she is there.
Cette réponse est l'opinion du représentant de la direction et non celle de TripAdvisor LLC ou de l'un de ses partenaires.
Intéressé(e) par cet établissement ?
Faire une demande
VuPoint
VA
5 5 étoiles Avis écrit le 22 avril 2014 Séjour en avril 2014
Google Traduction
5 5 étoiles Rapport qualité / prix 5 5 étoiles Chambres
5 5 étoiles Emplacement 5 5 étoiles Propreté
5 5 étoiles Réception 5 5 étoiles Service
Recommanderais-je cette Location de vacances à mon meilleur ami?  
Recommandé pour:
Voyageurs en quête de luxe
Cet avis vous a-t-il été utile ? Oui
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un voyageur et non de TripAdvisor LLC ou de ses partenaires.
Réponse de la direction
22 avr. 2014
I think I spend most of my indoor time on the screened porch also, just looking at the gorgeous colors of the ocean and watching those palm fronds sway to and fro.
Cette réponse est l'opinion du représentant de la direction et non celle de TripAdvisor LLC ou de l'un de ses partenaires.
Intéressé(e) par cet établissement ?
Faire une demande
HildysGan...
Coldwater, Michigan
Auteur de niveau
13 avis
3 avis sur les hôtels
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 votes utiles
“Home away from home!”
5 5 étoiles Avis écrit le 15 avril 2014 Séjour en avril 2014
Google Traduction

This is my first review, so it may jump around a little, but here goes!

From the moment we made our reservation, Barb gave us limitless information! There were e-mail exchanges, links to websites and so on! In the condo, there is a folder and a drawer full of anything and everything you may need to know when staying in St. Croix! Everything was covered from car rentals to grocery stores, to the best jewelers to the finest hidden beaches! Nothing was missed!

Upon arrival, we found some very nice gifts that Barb had left for us! Champagne chilling in the fridge, some beautiful necklaces for our kids, a lovely book about island life and a credit at the snack shack on the beach! Very kind, Barb, thank you!!!!! We got in rather late, so it was nice that there was coffee there for us to have for the next morning, too!

The condo was perfect in every way! Our 15 year old had the front bedroom, king, with her own bathroom. Our 12 year old son had the rear bedroom with his own bath, too! My husband and I took the upstairs bedroom so we had a little extra space to spread out, and it was lovely! Falling asleep to the sound of the ocean every night was a nice departure to the snow and cold we left at home!

The kitchen, grill, and several eating areas enticed us to eat at home a bit. We had breakfast at the condo most every day. We would venture out and see what we could find for lunch, then have dinner at home if we weren't out exploring. Groceries are very expensive on the island. We splurged on Bryers ice cream ($10 a half gallon) and Totino's frozen pizzas ($8 each)! We went to the open-air market on Saturday, across from Pueblo, too. We bought fresh local fruit, veggies and fish. The fish that they sell looks like it is straight out of a salt water fish tank, so it's a little hard to eat since it's so pretty! You pick out your fish/lobster/conch, then they clean it right there for you! Other than that, we stuck to the basics, but it is such a nice condo for cooking and eating in that we didn't mind! There was no hurry to cook or eat at a certain time, so that made it even more pleasant!

The condo amenities were amazing! The beach was awesome, clean and had great snorkeling and swimming. The little shade huts and chairs were so nice to have! It must've been a perfect time to visit because it seemed like we had the place to ourselves! Around the corner from the beach is a tide pool area that we enjoyed exploring, too! The salt water pool was crystal clear and tidy all of the time! Great place! The snack shack was cute, but isn't guaranteed to be open every day. The girl that works there looks at the radar and if it shows rain, she won't open up. Of the seven days we were there, she was open three of them, even though the weather was only spotted rain? Make sure you have a Plan B if you want to eat there!

We tried to eat at as many places as we could. We love to experience the local fare, but only maybe a snack here and there, not big meals! We were a little surprised that most places served simple "american" food? You could get a hamburger, fries and chicken strips everywhere. We expected to find more local fish and seafood, but most places only listed one or two menu items along those lines. We found a lot of good seafood at Spratnet! Cute, little, outdoor bar in Cane Bay, and they have a lot of local seafood; shark bites, lobster bites, fresh lobster, conch, etc. Also, be sure to try Calivn's "papawanna" (sp?)! It's his own rum/brew concoction! Good stuff! In Cane Bay, we also tried Waves and Eat. Waves has a little grotto where we sat with the ocean crashing right next to us! My husband even picked out his own lobster right out of their trap! Eat was good, too, and had one or two local fish on special. At Salt River, the Pirate Bar had only "american" fried food, but the Pain Killer was great! Over on the docks at Christianstead, Angry Nate's is good! The tuna appetizer that is sort of tempura style is great! Around the corner, the Avacado Pit has good ice cream! Also in Cane Bay, Off the Wall had good looking pizza and calzones, and Above the Cliff has home made shrimp poppers that are so good! We went to Palms for the Mako-Jumbie show! The entertainment was great, food was so-so! The best meals we had were in our swim suits, on Barb's terrace, together around the little table, just my family! ;-)

Everything was great here, the island, the beaches, the relaxation, the condo, everything! Nice beds and pillows, fully stocked kitchen, great views and nice ocean breezes, handy washer and drier, and a shed full of things to use! On the days that we left the condo grounds, we'd grab Barb's beach chairs and towels, pack her cooler, bring her snorkel gear and sand toys, and we'd head out in search of a new beach! This was the highlight of our trip, not having anywhere to be at any certain time, just putzing around until we found a place to land for a few hours! Loved, loved, loved it!!!!!! We can't wait to return!

5 5 étoiles La réservation a-t-elle été facile ? 5 5 étoiles L'itinéraire donné était-il correct ?
5 5 étoiles La remise des clés/l'accès à la location ont-ils été faciles ? 5 5 étoiles État général de la location
5 5 étoiles Literie 5 5 étoiles Cuisine et ustensiles
5 5 étoiles Propreté de la salle de bains 5 5 étoiles Autres équipements
5 5 étoiles Service
Le plus apprécié: The quiet, low key atmosphere; not Spring Break'ish!
Compagnons de voyage : Teenagers
Votre tranche d'âge 35-49
Recommanderiez-vous cet hôtel à un ami ?    Oui.
Recommandé pour:
Groupe d'amis Voyageurs seniors
Familles avec jeunes enfants Pour les groupes
Personnes avec des animaux de compagnie
  • La location était-elle conforme à l'annonce ?
  • Recommanderiez-vous cette location ?
  • Le rapport qualité-prix était-il bon ?
  • La location était-elle équipée d'un accès Internet ?
Cet avis vous a-t-il été utile ? Oui
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un membre de TripAdvisor et non de TripAdvisor LLC.
Réponse de la direction
15 avr. 2014
Your title, Home Away from Home is exactly what we were striving for. Lovely view, delightful weather, up-to-date appointments all surrounded by beautiful art. Hopefully it's all anyone could ask for.
Cette réponse est l'opinion subjective du représentant de la direction et non de TripAdvisor LLC
Intéressé(e) par cet établissement ?
Faire une demande
Leslie
IL
5 5 étoiles Avis écrit le 5 avril 2014 Séjour en mars 2014
Google Traduction
5 5 étoiles Rapport qualité / prix 5 5 étoiles Chambres
5 5 étoiles Emplacement 5 5 étoiles Propreté
5 5 étoiles Réception 5 5 étoiles Service
Recommanderais-je cette Location de vacances à mon meilleur ami?  
Recommandé pour:
Pour les amoureux
Cet avis vous a-t-il été utile ? Oui
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un voyageur et non de TripAdvisor LLC ou de ses partenaires.
Réponse de la direction
05 avr. 2014
I've always felt that a "home away from home" is the way to go for a family. So glad you agree. We hope to see you back again soon.
Cette réponse est l'opinion du représentant de la direction et non celle de TripAdvisor LLC ou de l'un de ses partenaires.
Intéressé(e) par cet établissement ?
Faire une demande
Margaret
Florida
5 5 étoiles Avis écrit le 29 mars 2014 Séjour en mars 2014
Google Traduction
5 5 étoiles Rapport qualité / prix 5 5 étoiles Chambres
4 5 étoiles Emplacement 5 5 étoiles Propreté
4 5 étoiles Réception 5 5 étoiles Service
Recommanderais-je cette Location de vacances à mon meilleur ami?  
Recommandé pour:
Pour les amoureux Voyageurs seniors
Voyageurs en quête de luxe
Cet avis vous a-t-il été utile ? Oui
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un voyageur et non de TripAdvisor LLC ou de ses partenaires.
Réponse de la direction
29 mars 2014
Many thanks for the lovely review. I'll be sure and tell Angela, our housekeeper, what you said about the cleanliness of the unit. She will be so pleased that it was noticed! We,too, find the locals to be polite and well mannered. And what could be nicer than just walking across your lawn to an expansive white sand beach. Thanks again for the review.
Cette réponse est l'opinion du représentant de la direction et non celle de TripAdvisor LLC ou de l'un de ses partenaires.
Intéressé(e) par cet établissement ?
Faire une demande
Spiffy D
Wisconsin
5 5 étoiles Avis écrit le 21 mars 2014 Séjour en mars 2014
Google Traduction
4 5 étoiles Rapport qualité / prix 5 5 étoiles Chambres
5 5 étoiles Emplacement 5 5 étoiles Propreté
5 5 étoiles Réception
Recommanderais-je cette Location de vacances à mon meilleur ami?  
Recommandé pour:
Pour les amoureux Voyageurs seniors
Voyageurs en quête de luxe
Cet avis vous a-t-il été utile ? Oui
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un voyageur et non de TripAdvisor LLC ou de ses partenaires.
Réponse de la direction
21 mars 2014
I too think the white sand beach at Gentle Winds rivals any other in the Caribbean. Your kind review is greatly appreciated.
Cette réponse est l'opinion du représentant de la direction et non celle de TripAdvisor LLC ou de l'un de ses partenaires.
Intéressé(e) par cet établissement ?
Faire une demande
Arrivée
Départ
Occupants
à partir de
USD 235
/
Nuit
Semaine
Le propriétaire peut appliquer des frais supplémentaires
Faire une demande
Gérant
Barbara F
17757823057
Parle Anglais, Espagnol, Français
Inscription : nov. 2011
Taux de réponse: 95 %
Délai de réponse: en quelques heures
Calendrier mis à jour: il y a 1 jour
Possédez-vous une location de vacances ? Inscrivez-la ici.
Les annonces sont gratuites !
Ajoutez votre location de vacances sur TripAdvisor et Holiday Lettings sans frais. Vous payez seulement 3 % de commission sur chaque réservation confirmée et payée.
Protégez votre vie privée
TripAdvisor communique vos coordonnées à vos locataires uniquement après que le premier paiement a été effectué.
Augmentez votre visibilité
Faites la promotion de votre logement auprès des voyageurs du monde entier qui recherchent activement une location dans votre secteur chaque mois.
Configurez votre annonce gratuite