Nous avons remarqué que vous utilisez un navigateur non reconnu. Il se peut que les pages de TripAdvisor ne s'affichent pas correctement.
Notre site est optimisé pour les navigateurs suivants:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Plan Your Escape- Private Pool, View, Maid Service

Rakiraki
|
Logement à louer – 
3 Chambres, 3 salles de bains, 6 couchages

Avis des voyageurs TripAdvisor

Contribuez à la communauté de voyageurs TripAdvisor et aidez les autres voyageurs à trouver la location de vacances parfaite
Écrire un avis

Avis des voyageurs TripAdvisor

Date | Note
  • Anglais en 1er
  • Français en 1er
  • Toutes
  • Derniers résultats en français
Français en 1er
Cust4
Christchurch, Nouvelle-Zélande
Contributeur confirmé
8 avis 8 avis
4 avis sur les hôtels
Avis dans 7 villes Avis dans 7 villes
20 votes utiles 20 votes utiles
“Very relaxing”
4 5 étoiles Avis écrit le 7 août 2014 Séjour en mars 2014
Google Traduction
2
personnes ont trouvé cet avis utile

Starfish Blue certainly lived up to our expectations for a relaxing Fijian holiday. We enjoy self sufficiency and this fitted the bill perfectly, not being part of a packaged resort however having the freedom to use Wananavu Resorts facilities only five minutes walk away.

We went with two teenage girls and for them to have their own air-conditioned rooms made our stay very pleasant (for any one who has travelled with teenagers, you'll know what I mean!) In a resort we would have been in the same room or at best small one room unit with people in the living area.

The bedroom upstairs was our 'adult' sanctuary and as other reviewers said, we didn't need the air-con, just left the louvres open and the breeze was lovely and cooling.

Rozi and Reshmi, the maids were wonderful and there to greet us with fresh flowers, fruit and fresh fruit juice, and they were great throughout our stay. We chose not to have them come every day, and got them to prepare three evening meals which were fantastic and great value for money with beautiful Kokonda and Samosa's. They always supplied fresh flowers, fruit and fruit juice when they came.

The pool was great for cooling off in after lazing reading books and generally chilling out, and the girls spent a lot of time in there. It was a wonderful place to sit beside looking at the ocean and island views, having fresh fruit salad and coconut for breakfast.

Snorkelling off the beach was better than expected with a good variety of coral and fish to see. We were pleased we took some snorkel gear though as most of what was there was broken or worn out (Beth advises this will be replaced)

Everything we needed to be self sufficient was there and we arranged transport from the airport through Jai and Suncoast Tours and Taxis which was good as we stopped at Tavua for supplies.

We were a bit tired from a 3.30 am start to catch flights and were disappointed with the fruit and vege at the supermarket, until we loaded up our groceries and pointed this out to our driver, and he pointed us to a local market adjacent where we found an abundance of fruit and vege and so cheap!

I'd recommend buying frozen chickens as there is a good size fridge freezer and a really good easy to use rotisserie that did the chicken to perfection, which was a quick and easy way to cook and have hot meals with leftovers for lunch.

There is a supermarket and local market at nearby Rakiraki which we visited and found everything we needed there.

Pros / Cons

We really appreciated the privacy and seclusion of Starfish Blue but that was a pro and con with the trade-off being the need for transport and we debated hiring a vehicle. We didn't as we decided we wouldn't have utilised it. This made us reliant on Suncoast tours and there were occaisions it would have been easy to have our own vehicle to explore a bit more, visit Volivoli, find fresh fish etc.

The worst point was the unexpected arrival of a 'security guard' at 6pm on our first night when the girls were enjoying the pool after a long days travel. He took up residence at the outside hanging bed and the girls felt very uncomfortable and didn't use the pool at any time after his arrival for the duration of our stay.

This also curtailed our privacy and we weren't able to enjoy sitting outside having a drink in the evening enjoying the breeze and views, or relaxing on the hanging bed.

I asked the security guard not to come until after 9pm but he insisted he had to be there at 6pm, and when I raised this with Jai and said we didn't want a security guard nothing changed either which was disappointing.

My job is law related and I saw no need for a security guard and there were other private holiday homes that were nearby that had no guards.

Unfortunately Wi-Fi was non existent so I couldn't raise this with Beth at the time, but she has since advised he shouldn't have been there and wouldn't be in the future but this didn't help the tarnish it put on our stay.

Despite this, would we go back, yes! It was great for a family holiday and would be ideal for 3 couples to have an island break, yet have their own space and freedom.

5 5 étoiles La réservation a-t-elle été facile ? 5 5 étoiles L'itinéraire donné était-il correct ?
5 5 étoiles La remise des clés/l'accès à la location ont-ils été faciles ? 4 5 étoiles État général de la location
5 5 étoiles Literie 5 5 étoiles Cuisine et ustensiles
5 5 étoiles Propreté de la salle de bains 5 5 étoiles Autres équipements
4 5 étoiles Service
Le plus apprécié: Privacy and seclusion
Le moins apprécié: The arrival of a security guard that we weren't advised about and wasn't needed
Compagnons de voyage : Teenagers
Recommanderiez-vous cet hôtel à un ami ?    Oui.
Recommandé pour:
Groupe d'amis Familles avec jeunes enfants
  • La location était-elle conforme à l'annonce ?
  • Recommanderiez-vous cette location ?
  • Le rapport qualité-prix était-il bon ?
  • La location était-elle équipée d'un accès Internet ?
Cet avis vous a-t-il été utile ? Oui
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un membre de TripAdvisor et non de TripAdvisor LLC.
Intéressé(e) par cet établissement ?
Faire une demande
LynHatton
Victoria, Australia
Auteur
11 avis 11 avis
11 avis sur les hôtels
Avis dans 11 villes Avis dans 11 villes
23 votes utiles 23 votes utiles
“A beaut Holiday Home in Rakiraki, Sun Coast, Fiji”
5 5 étoiles Avis écrit le 6 août 2014 Séjour en août 2014
Google Traduction

When you arrive at your holiday destination and its night time, it can be a little disorientating. You can see the pool, the palm trees, the amazing architectural designed house. You explore the rooms and toss the coin to see who get the upstairs penthouse style suite with spa bath, king bed, private balcony etc. You look in all the kitchen cupboards and discover they are stocked with fruit juicer, a blenders, and all the mods and cons for shared cooking fun, then in the morning you get to see where you are. Turquoise water. Islands that almost look like they are swimmable or kayaking distance, yachts moored just past the reef... You really know you are in a very special place.
We snorkelled just in front of the house, lovely coral and fish. We even saw a few Nemo's !
Starfish Blue in Rakiraki, is lovely. It's a well set up holiday home, comfortable furniture, all the convince of a western style upmarket home but in location most people can only dream about visiting.

5 5 étoiles La réservation a-t-elle été facile ? 5 5 étoiles L'itinéraire donné était-il correct ?
5 5 étoiles La remise des clés/l'accès à la location ont-ils été faciles ? 5 5 étoiles État général de la location
4 5 étoiles Literie 5 5 étoiles Cuisine et ustensiles
5 5 étoiles Propreté de la salle de bains 5 5 étoiles Autres équipements
5 5 étoiles Service
Compagnons de voyage : Amis
Recommanderiez-vous cet hôtel à un ami ?    Oui.
Recommandé pour:
Groupe d'amis
  • La location était-elle conforme à l'annonce ?
  • Recommanderiez-vous cette location ?
  • Le rapport qualité-prix était-il bon ?
  • La location était-elle équipée d'un accès Internet ?
Cet avis vous a-t-il été utile ? Oui
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un membre de TripAdvisor et non de TripAdvisor LLC.
Intéressé(e) par cet établissement ?
Faire une demande
James L. Rubart
WA
5 5 étoiles Avis écrit le 19 septembre 2013 Séjour en août 2013
Google Traduction
5 5 étoiles Rapport qualité / prix 5 5 étoiles Chambres
5 5 étoiles Emplacement 5 5 étoiles Propreté
5 5 étoiles Réception 5 5 étoiles Service
Recommanderais-je cette Location de vacances à mon meilleur ami?  
Recommandé pour:
Pour les amoureux
Cet avis vous a-t-il été utile ? Oui
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un voyageur et non de TripAdvisor LLC ou de ses partenaires.
Intéressé(e) par cet établissement ?
Faire une demande
Un voyageur authentifié par FlipKey
Sydney
4 5 étoiles Avis écrit le 12 août 2013 Séjour en juillet 2013
Google Traduction
4 5 étoiles Rapport qualité / prix 4 5 étoiles Chambres
5 5 étoiles Emplacement 5 5 étoiles Propreté
5 5 étoiles Réception 5 5 étoiles Service
Recommanderais-je cette Location de vacances à mon meilleur ami?  
Recommandé pour:
Pour les amoureux Voyageurs seniors
Cet avis vous a-t-il été utile ? Oui
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un voyageur et non de TripAdvisor LLC ou de ses partenaires.
Intéressé(e) par cet établissement ?
Faire une demande
Dave & Renee
New Zealand
5 5 étoiles Avis écrit le 29 juillet 2013 Séjour en juin 2013
Google Traduction
1
personne ont trouvé cet avis utile
5 5 étoiles Rapport qualité / prix 5 5 étoiles Chambres
5 5 étoiles Emplacement 5 5 étoiles Propreté
5 5 étoiles Réception 5 5 étoiles Service
Recommanderais-je cette Location de vacances à mon meilleur ami?  
Recommandé pour:
Pour les amoureux Voyageurs seniors
Voyageurs en quête de luxe
Cet avis vous a-t-il été utile ? Oui
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un voyageur et non de TripAdvisor LLC ou de ses partenaires.
Intéressé(e) par cet établissement ?
Faire une demande
Andrea S
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributeur
5 avis 5 avis
3 avis sur les hôtels
Avis dans 3 villes Avis dans 3 villes
3 votes utiles 3 votes utiles
“Well worth it!”
5 5 étoiles Avis écrit le 21 juin 2013 Séjour en mai 2013
Google Traduction
1
personne ont trouvé cet avis utile

The house was clean and just as presented in pictures and words. Worked perfectly for the 5 of us. The staff, the drivers and "Uncle" Jai's crew were all amazing and very accommodating.

We had a large storm blow in that affected our power. Beth, the owner, "Uncle" Jai and his staff were checking on us and the generator 24 hours a day until there was no further need. (No affect on our stay.) Their concern and efforts were top-notch. Due to the storm, we got some of the best professional massages from Renu. Check with "Uncle" Jai to book.

The area is quiet, peaceful and off the beaten track. Diving available at a nearby resort, snorkeling available just off shore. A pool just outside the door for your morning swim. Rain or shine, it was/is an amazing place to be. Thank you to you all for making it so special!

5 5 étoiles La réservation a-t-elle été facile ? 5 5 étoiles L'itinéraire donné était-il correct ?
5 5 étoiles La remise des clés/l'accès à la location ont-ils été faciles ? 5 5 étoiles État général de la location
5 5 étoiles Literie 5 5 étoiles Cuisine et ustensiles
5 5 étoiles Propreté de la salle de bains 5 5 étoiles Autres équipements
5 5 étoiles Service
Le plus apprécié: The villa was as advertised, we were catered to by the staff and we all felt very safe and secure.
Le moins apprécié: Due to weather, I missed snorkeling off shore.
Compagnons de voyage : Famille élargie
Recommanderiez-vous cet hôtel à un ami ?    Oui.
Recommandé pour:
Groupe d'amis Familles avec jeunes enfants
Pour les groupes
  • La location était-elle conforme à l'annonce ?
  • Recommanderiez-vous cette location ?
  • Le rapport qualité-prix était-il bon ?
  • La location était-elle équipée d'un accès Internet ?
Cet avis vous a-t-il été utile ? Oui
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un membre de TripAdvisor et non de TripAdvisor LLC.
Réponse de la direction
21 juin 2013
Thank you, Andrea, for the kind words. I know you and your friends have been planning this trip for a long time, and I'm so glad it met your expectations.

And using a rainy day to have Renu come to the house- great idea! Isn't she fabulous?

We love our staff and am so glad that they took such great care of you. That's always the last thing I say to them before I leave as I'm hugging each one, "Take care of the guests for me."

Thank you, again, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Beth Carson
Cette réponse est l'opinion subjective du représentant de la direction et non de TripAdvisor LLC
Intéressé(e) par cet établissement ?
Faire une demande
HappyDays...
CHCH, NZ
Auteur confirmé
48 avis 48 avis
11 avis sur les hôtels
Avis dans 20 villes Avis dans 20 villes
25 votes utiles 25 votes utiles
“!!”
5 5 étoiles Avis écrit le 27 mai 2013 Séjour en mai 2013
Google Traduction
2
personnes ont trouvé cet avis utile

We recently stayed at Starfish Blue for 7 nights during May 2013 with our 2 children aged 6 and 11. What a wonderful spot - definitely the real Fiji! No tourists fighting for loungers in sight! We arrived at night so missed the lovely scenic views on the way in. We are from CHCH (post quake potholes common) but were quite interested to see where the rocky and bumpy 4wd drive road off the main road, took us!!! And wow did it take us somewhere lovely!! Our children loved the pool - the smaller whirlpool was perfect for our younger child to play around in. The children had their own bedroom with ensuite each, whilst we enjoyed the massive master bedroom suite upstairs. We had some great sleeps in the comfy beds. All the amenities right on hand including dryer, aircon and dishwasher (if need be!!) we didn't use the aircon at night, just enjoyed the sea breeze blowing through. Waking in the morning to the gorgeous sunrise was such a treat in this peaceful part of Fiji. A short walk to Wananavu resort led us to dine there frequently and enjoy the absolutely immaculate dining experience that they have on offer - exquisite food on a changing daily menu. We also made use of the resort's pool, hammocks and other facilities. The staff at the house were wonderful - the ladies cooked us up some lunch on one of the days (beautiful!!) Jai (manager) and staff were awesome - always punctual for transfers, and there if required. A couple of power outages led us to cranking up the generator which was very easy and not a problem. Beth was the most helpful property owner I have ever come across. We had booked nearly a year before travelling, so she fielded all my ridiculous questions extra well and replied super speedily. Beth has a great knowledge of the area and we discovered is well respected by the locals that know her. Soni at Volivoli spoke highly of her. We left Starfish for Volivoli which was where the family wedding was held. Awesome resort - well priced food and very cool place to visit about 15 min waterfront drive away. Well worth a visit too. The only negative I can think of is those tiny marching ants - so take some resealable plastic bags or make use of the plastic containers with lids that Beth has in the kitchen!! :) and problem solved!! Top notch, thank you very much Beth!

5 5 étoiles La réservation a-t-elle été facile ? 5 5 étoiles La remise des clés/l'accès à la location ont-ils été faciles ?
4 5 étoiles État général de la location 5 5 étoiles Literie
4 5 étoiles Cuisine et ustensiles 4 5 étoiles Propreté de la salle de bains
4 5 étoiles Autres équipements 5 5 étoiles Service
Le plus apprécié: location
Le moins apprécié: those ants
Compagnons de voyage : Young Children
Recommanderiez-vous cet hôtel à un ami ?    Oui.
Recommandé pour:
Groupe d'amis Familles avec jeunes enfants
Pour les groupes
  • La location était-elle conforme à l'annonce ?
  • Recommanderiez-vous cette location ?
  • Le rapport qualité-prix était-il bon ?
Cet avis vous a-t-il été utile ? Oui
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un membre de TripAdvisor et non de TripAdvisor LLC.
Réponse de la direction
27 mai 2013
Jay and Bede,

What a delight it was to see this review! I enjoyed corresponding with you during the planning stage and am so glad it was everything you hoped for.

It's the best of both worlds- access to Volivoli and Wananavu and a private home stay with plenty of loungers- you're right- no need to stake out lounge chairs at sunrise.

I'm glad your whole family enjoyed your stay at Starfish Blue.

Warmest Regards,

Beth Carson
Cette réponse est l'opinion subjective du représentant de la direction et non de TripAdvisor LLC
Intéressé(e) par cet établissement ?
Faire une demande
Arrivée
Départ
Occupants
à partir de
USD 250
/
Nuit
Semaine
Demander la réservation
Sinon, envoyez un message au propriétaire
Envoyer un message
logement avec protection des paiements
Gérant
Elizabeth C
8282777800
Parle Anglais
Inscrite en : août 2009
Taux de réponse: 95 %
Délai de réponse: en quelques heures
Calendrier mis à jour: il y a 1 jour
Certificat de Sécurité
Vous êtes automatiquement couvert pour toute location de vacances réservée sur TripAdvisor !
En savoir plus
Possédez-vous une location de vacances ? Inscrivez-la ici.
Les annonces sont gratuites !
Ajoutez votre location de vacances sur TripAdvisor et Holiday Lettings sans frais. Vous payez seulement 3 % de commission sur chaque réservation confirmée et payée.
Protégez votre vie privée
TripAdvisor communique vos coordonnées à vos locataires uniquement après que le premier paiement a été effectué.
Augmentez votre visibilité
Faites la promotion de votre logement auprès des voyageurs du monde entier qui recherchent activement une location dans votre secteur chaque mois.
Configurez votre annonce gratuite