Nous avons remarqué que vous utilisez un navigateur non reconnu. Il se peut que les pages de TripAdvisor ne s'affichent pas correctement.
Notre site est optimisé pour les navigateurs suivants:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

$ 29 p/p Gorgeous Private Home w/pool by Yalku/HMB

Casa Tucan Front with swimming pool and 2 large terraces
Casa Tucan Front with swimming pool and 2 large terraces
Casa Tucan Front with swimming pool and 2 large terraces
Private Swimming pool with lounge chairs
Upper terrace with jungle view
Half Moon Bay Beach 2 min. walk from Casa Tucan
Covered terrace with sitting area and hammocks
Akumal
|
Logement à louer – 
4 Chambres, 3 salles de bains, 12 couchages

Avis des voyageurs TripAdvisor

Contribuez à la communauté de voyageurs TripAdvisor et aidez les autres voyageurs à trouver la location de vacances parfaite
Écrire un avis

Avis des voyageurs TripAdvisor

Date | Note
  • Anglais en 1er
  • Français en 1er
  • Toutes
  • Derniers résultats en français
Français en 1er
JJ V
Bruxelles, Belgique
1 avis
1 vote utile 1 vote utile
“Lovely and spacious house in beautiful Akumal”
5 5 étoiles Avis écrit le 29 janvier 2014 Séjour en janvier 2014
Google Traduction
1
personne ont trouvé cet avis utile

We had a lovely stay in this spacious house! Nicely decorated, everything you need is there, and even with 8p + a baby, it never felt crowded. Very recommended. However if you dont like to walk much, its good to rent a bike/golfcart/car, as the prettiest beach/'downtown-Akumal' is a 20min walk. The beautiful lagoon is almost nextdoor though.
Also Jorge is a very kind manager.

Compagnons de voyage : Famille avec jeunes enfants
Recommanderiez-vous cet hôtel à un ami ?    Oui.
Cet avis vous a-t-il été utile ? Oui
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un membre de TripAdvisor et non de TripAdvisor LLC.
Intéressé(e) par cet établissement ?
Faire une demande
Judy N
BC, anada
Auteur chevronné
84 avis 84 avis
52 avis sur les hôtels
Avis dans 58 villes Avis dans 58 villes
68 votes utiles 68 votes utiles
“Terrific value in a wonderful place”
4 5 étoiles Avis écrit le 17 janvier 2014 Séjour en décembre 2013
Google Traduction
1
personne ont trouvé cet avis utile

My husband and I rented Casa Tucan for almost four weeks in December-January, where three family members joined us for much of the time. This is not a perfect house but it worked really well for us. Its location, within about five minutes walking distance of outstanding snorkeling in Yal-Ku Lagoon, and--in a different direction--the beach at Half Moon Bay, was excellent, though it could be less appealing for those who weren't interested in snorkeling. The pluses of the house--particularly the reasonable cost--definitely outweighed the negatives.

The house itself was really spacious, probably its biggest plus. We could all choose to be together or find a peaceful place to be alone. Even the hallways were a generous size. On the main level, as you can see by the website photos, is an open living/dining/kitchen area, as well as a bathroom with a shower. On the second level, there are actually four bedrooms and two full bathrooms. The master suite, with patio doors leading out to the upper deck, is particularly nice. There's also a biggish TV room with a large flat-screen TV and a VCR, and patio doors to the deck. This deck would have been a great place to sit if it had been equipped with something other than armless plastic chairs. A stairway leads from the second level to the roof, with distant views of the ocean, which unfortunately couldn't be used at all as it had no seating. As this had been a family home, there is an amazing amount of excellent storage available throughout the house--countless shelves, cupboards, closets.

Between the peaceful road and the front of the house is a small but very nice pool and pool deck with mesh loungers, which we really enjoyed. The adjoining covered patio off the living/dining areas, which you can see in the photos, had no drainage, so rain blowing in and water shipped over the pool edge collected there, which was less than wonderful. This was another area that would have been much nicer if there had been something more comfortable than very basic plastic chairs.

The definitely-less-than-perfect aspects of the house (offset by the positives) were: never more than a trickle of hot water in the kitchen (never corrected); a toaster that had to be replaced; a fridge that broke down completely one day and never completely recovered as its thermostat didn't function; cooking equipment that was limited and somewhat battered; a moldy smell in some kitchen drawers; an unpleasant odour in the lower bathroom (solved by putting a plug in the shower drain); and patio doors in the living room that had a problem. We also found the unreliable wi-fi service a challenge: it was only occasionally available and then only in limited areas of the house. Maybe this problem can be partially explained by the concrete house construction, though that doesn't explain why it is most often offline.

We are fairly relaxed about insects, but those who aren't might not be comfortable with the hundreds of tiny ants that regularly appeared in the kitchen, the occasional scorpion and cockroach (only two of each), and quite a few small mosquitoes on the patios. (Bug repellent is definitely required.)

The manager, Jorge, lives in s small studio apartment on the main level, completely separate from the rental area. He was terrific: friendly, fluent in English, and always willing to do whatever he could to help. Sibylle, the owner, who handles the bookings from Switzerland (!), was efficient and very pleasant to deal with by email.

Casa Tucan is fairly close to the far end of Akumal's tree-lined main road, which leads in from the highway and then follows the water for 2 or 3 kilometers. For most of the way, there are low-rise condos and private houses on both sides of the road--some quite luxurious. Casa Tucan is not on the water side, which means that it is much less expensive than accommodation on the ocean. Another reviewer referred to the condition of the road, and he/she was correct. It's a bit of an obstacle course, with something like 20 topes (speed bumps) and countless potholes. Each trip to the centre of Akumal and the main highway--the route to supermarkets, fantastic cenotes, and archeological sites--took about ten minutes, though it always seemed longer.

We thought Akumal's restaurants were terrific. We specially enjoyed Buena Vista, the Turtle Bay Bakery and Cafe, Pancho Villa's, and La Lunita. We also had wonderful trips to cenotes, with our favorites being Dos Ojos, Gran Cenote, and Cenote Azul, all reasonably priced and within easy driving distance of Akumal.

Although the house easily accommodates a large number of people, larger groups could take advantage of the three reasonably priced apartments next door in Casa Quetzal, which is owned and managed by Jorge.

Despite its shortcomings, we would recommend Casa Tucan and a holiday in low-key Akumal.

4 5 étoiles La réservation a-t-elle été facile ? 5 5 étoiles L'itinéraire donné était-il correct ?
5 5 étoiles La remise des clés/l'accès à la location ont-ils été faciles ? 3 5 étoiles État général de la location
4 5 étoiles Literie 3 5 étoiles Cuisine et ustensiles
4 5 étoiles Propreté de la salle de bains 4 5 étoiles Autres équipements
5 5 étoiles Service
Le plus apprécié: The location, spaciousness and comfort of the house, including the pool area.
Le moins apprécié: The multitude of minor problems.
Compagnons de voyage : Famille élargie
Recommanderiez-vous cet hôtel à un ami ?    Oui.
Recommandé pour:
Groupe d'amis Voyageurs seniors
Familles avec jeunes enfants Pour les groupes
  • La location était-elle conforme à l'annonce ?
  • Recommanderiez-vous cette location ?
  • Le rapport qualité-prix était-il bon ?
  • La location était-elle équipée d'un accès Internet ?
  • Votre caution vous a-t-elle été restituée dans les délais prévus ?
Cet avis vous a-t-il été utile ? Oui
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un membre de TripAdvisor et non de TripAdvisor LLC.
Intéressé(e) par cet établissement ?
Faire une demande
Albertamo...
Edmonton, AB
Auteur confirmé
39 avis 39 avis
3 avis sur les hôtels
Avis dans 26 villes Avis dans 26 villes
35 votes utiles 35 votes utiles
“Spacious home / Great Value...”
4 5 étoiles Avis écrit le 27 mars 2013 Séjour en février 2013
Google Traduction
3
personnes ont trouvé cet avis utile

Our family of 6 stayed at Casa Tucan for 6 nights in Feb. We picked it as it had plenty of room for our party of 6 which included kids ages 11, 15 and 18, plus Grandma. We also wanted a house with a pool and there are quite a few in the area that did not or that were way beyond our budget.
Our dealings with Sibylle were professional and she was always quick to respond via email. This included some changes to our itinerary two months prior to our arrival.
Jorge, the caretaker was friendly and helpful. The maid was there daily except Sunday and cleaned the home late mornings. She would do our morning dishes when we left for our daily outings which was nice of her, but not expected. We also paid her to do a couple loads of laundry the first day we arrived as we had been on the road touring the Yucatan for 6 days. (we were not allowed to do our own laundry which I had brought detergent for, and we have always done at other rental homes).
The home was clean and spacious. Linens were changed half way through our stay and a couple of the beds ended up with pilled, rough linen that the kids complained about. The microwave did not work and when mentioning it to Jorge, he tried to troubleshoot and said if it continued not to work that he would have to buy a new one. We never got it to work and he did not ask again if it did. We had to reheat our meals and other items like refried beans in a saucepan etc - not nearly so convenient. We have a feeling that the microwave may not have worked for awhile and they are waiting for more persistent renters to complain before they go get a new one! Also the one pot and pan drawer had a terrible smell of mold coming from it whenever it was opened. I am allergic to mold and get terrible sinus headaches from it - so I tried to hold my breath when opening the drawer. There are areas where you can see water has leaked on the ceilings and it has been repainted etc. Didn't concern us (the house is up for sale though), but could contribute to the mold problems. The pool was clean and the plants around the pool were pretty. There is a two car parking spot just off the road in front of the house. There is no locked gate into the property, and we were told to always lock the windows and doors when leaving the home.
Overall it is a nice home which sufficed for our needs. We have stayed at comparable rental homes in Hawaii but have also stayed at more impressive homes (nicer more expensive pictures on the walls/ decor / better linens etc) too.
As it was a 10 min drive from the main highway, and most of the road is full of potholes and speedbumps, it was a little tedious to drive the road 2-4 times a day too and from the highway or to go snorkeling at Akumal Bay.
I don't think we would rent in this area again, just based on location. Also, Half Moon Bay, which is were the house is located, has minimal beach access. There is beach access in one place just south of the house, about a 5 minute walk. But there is no other access around the north tip of the bay, and we found that disappointing as we could not walk the full bay due to a rock wall from an accommodation on the north end which extended into the ocean.
I hope this review helps others in making their choice in rental homes! It was perfect for our stay, but based on location and a couple of other factors, we probably would look elsewhere next time.
Oh yes, and there is NO kayak which is stated on the 'Amenities'. I had told the kids there was going to be a kayak and they were disappointed that there wasn't. AND the wifi was iffy to say the least - this frustrated the kids to no end and my husband who was dealing with business emails.

5 5 étoiles La réservation a-t-elle été facile ? 5 5 étoiles L'itinéraire donné était-il correct ?
5 5 étoiles La remise des clés/l'accès à la location ont-ils été faciles ? 4 5 étoiles État général de la location
4 5 étoiles Literie 4 5 étoiles Cuisine et ustensiles
5 5 étoiles Propreté de la salle de bains 4 5 étoiles Autres équipements
4 5 étoiles Service
Le plus apprécié: Spaciousness and pool
Le moins apprécié: Location
Compagnons de voyage : Famille élargie
Recommanderiez-vous cet hôtel à un ami ?    Oui.
Recommandé pour:
Groupe d'amis Familles avec jeunes enfants
Pour les groupes
  • Le rapport qualité-prix était-il bon ?
  • La location était-elle équipée d'un accès Internet ?
  • Votre caution vous a-t-elle été restituée dans les délais prévus ?
Cet avis vous a-t-il été utile ? Oui
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un membre de TripAdvisor et non de TripAdvisor LLC.
Intéressé(e) par cet établissement ?
Faire une demande
shannyk1
1 avis
“Lovely house-great value”
4 5 étoiles Avis écrit le 15 février 2013 Séjour en décembre 2012
Google Traduction

We really enjoyed the house. The pool is a good size and great for kids. Jorge the Manager took good care of the pool and was always available to help us and very friendly. Great people in the town and neighborhood, I even made a couple good friends with some locals down by the Buena Vida pub. Also, it is a cool place to eat/drink about halfway to main beach

We were a group of 6 and found that you could still have personal privacy in the house with that many people, the layout is great and the roof top had great views.

I would reccommend renting bikes/golf cart if you want to go to the main Aukumal beach, otherwise it is a good 15-20 minute walk, which is ok, but I can stay out in the full sun, and it is too long for small children.

Quiet, safe neighborhood and great swimming in the lagoon, ocean nearby, is rocky, but still swimmable or children can wade, recommend water shoes.

4 5 étoiles La réservation a-t-elle été facile ? 4 5 étoiles L'itinéraire donné était-il correct ?
5 5 étoiles La remise des clés/l'accès à la location ont-ils été faciles ? 3 5 étoiles État général de la location
3 5 étoiles Literie 3 5 étoiles Cuisine et ustensiles
4 5 étoiles Propreté de la salle de bains 4 5 étoiles Autres équipements
4 5 étoiles Service
Le plus apprécié: Lots of room, decks, bedrooms had balconies, location.
Le moins apprécié: Air conditioning was broken for much of our stay
Compagnons de voyage : Autre
Votre tranche d'âge 50-64
Recommanderiez-vous cet hôtel à un ami ?    Oui.
Recommandé pour:
Groupe d'amis Voyageurs seniors
Familles avec jeunes enfants Pour les groupes
Personnes avec des animaux de compagnie
  • La location était-elle conforme à l'annonce ?
  • Recommanderiez-vous cette location ?
  • Le rapport qualité-prix était-il bon ?
  • La location était-elle équipée d'un accès Internet ?
Cet avis vous a-t-il été utile ? Oui
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un membre de TripAdvisor et non de TripAdvisor LLC.
Intéressé(e) par cet établissement ?
Faire une demande
djtrane
AB
5 5 étoiles Avis écrit le 28 janvier 2013 Séjour en janvier 2013
Google Traduction
5 5 étoiles Rapport qualité / prix 5 5 étoiles Chambres
5 5 étoiles Emplacement 5 5 étoiles Propreté
5 5 étoiles Réception 4 5 étoiles Service
Recommanderais-je cette Location de vacances à mon meilleur ami?  
Recommandé pour:
Pour les amoureux Voyageurs seniors
Cet avis vous a-t-il été utile ? Oui
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un voyageur et non de TripAdvisor LLC ou de ses partenaires.
Intéressé(e) par cet établissement ?
Faire une demande
Un voyageur authentifié par FlipKey
Zurich Switzerland
5 5 étoiles Avis écrit le 26 janvier 2013 Séjour en décembre 2012
Google Traduction
4 5 étoiles Rapport qualité / prix 5 5 étoiles Chambres
4 5 étoiles Emplacement 5 5 étoiles Propreté
5 5 étoiles Réception 5 5 étoiles Service
Recommanderais-je cette Location de vacances à mon meilleur ami?  
Cet avis vous a-t-il été utile ? Oui
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un voyageur et non de TripAdvisor LLC ou de ses partenaires.
Intéressé(e) par cet établissement ?
Faire une demande
Bill
MN
5 5 étoiles Avis écrit le 14 mai 2012 Séjour en janvier 2010
Google Traduction
5 5 étoiles Rapport qualité / prix 5 5 étoiles Chambres
5 5 étoiles Emplacement 5 5 étoiles Propreté
5 5 étoiles Réception 5 5 étoiles Service
Recommanderais-je cette Location de vacances à mon meilleur ami?  
Recommandé pour:
Pour les amoureux Voyageurs seniors
Voyageurs en quête de luxe Voyageurs endurcis
Cet avis vous a-t-il été utile ? Oui
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un voyageur et non de TripAdvisor LLC ou de ses partenaires.
Intéressé(e) par cet établissement ?
Faire une demande
Arrivée
Départ
Occupants
Le propriétaire peut appliquer des frais supplémentaires
Cet établissement n'a pas encore renseigné ses tarifs. Contactez le propriétaire/gérant pour connaître le prix total.
Faire une demande
Gérant
Sibylle G
Parle Anglais
Inscrite en : avr. 2012
Taux de réponse: 29 %
Calendrier mis à jour: il y a 242 jours
Possédez-vous une location de vacances ? Inscrivez-la ici.
Les annonces sont gratuites !
Ajoutez votre location de vacances sur TripAdvisor et Holiday Lettings sans frais. Vous payez seulement 3 % de commission sur chaque réservation confirmée et payée.
Protégez votre vie privée
TripAdvisor communique vos coordonnées à vos locataires uniquement après que le premier paiement a été effectué.
Augmentez votre visibilité
Faites la promotion de votre logement auprès des voyageurs du monde entier qui recherchent activement une location dans votre secteur chaque mois.
Configurez votre annonce gratuite