Nous avons remarqué que vous utilisez un navigateur non reconnu. Il se peut que les pages de TripAdvisor ne s'affichent pas correctement.
Notre site est optimisé pour les navigateurs suivants:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castaway--on North Beach

Shipwreck Suites 1 & 2
Shipwreck Suites 1 & 2
Shipwreck Suites 1 & 2
King-size bed platform w/ mosquito netting canopy
comfortable double loveseats
view of the beach from your private deck
yours are the only footprints on North Beach
Salt Cay
|
Logement à louer – 
1 Chambre, 1 salle de bains, 2 couchages

Avis des voyageurs TripAdvisor

Contribuez à la communauté de voyageurs TripAdvisor et aidez les autres voyageurs à trouver la location de vacances parfaite
Écrivez un avis

Avis des voyageurs TripAdvisor

Date | Note
  • Anglais en 1er
  • Toutes
Toutes
MrsSneezy
South Jersey
Auteur de niveau
8 avis
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 votes utiles
“Best beach in the world”
5 5 étoiles Avis écrit le 17 avril 2013 Séjour en avril 2013
Google Traduction
2
personnes ont trouvé cet avis utile

Our accommodations were extremely nice. The access to the most beautiful, cleanest almost private beach in the Turks and Caicos was completely World Class.
Staying at Castaways gives "beach front" an entirely new definition.

5 5 étoiles La réservation a-t-elle été facile ? 5 5 étoiles L'itinéraire donné était-il correct ?
5 5 étoiles La remise des clés/l'accès à la location ont-ils été faciles ?
Compagnons de voyage : époux(se)/partenaire
Recommanderiez-vous cet hôtel à un ami ?    Oui.
Cet avis vous a-t-il été utile ? Oui
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un membre de TripAdvisor et non de TripAdvisor LLC.
Intéressé(e) par cet établissement ?
Faire une demande
VickiD343
Norman, Oklahoma
2 avis
“Paradise”
5 5 étoiles Avis écrit le 11 avril 2013 Séjour en mars 2013
Google Traduction

The room was excellent, the view perfect and listening to the surf made sleeping easy. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our trip started poorly with US Airways losing our gate checked carry on luggage, but Porter and Haidee welcomed us, clothed us and went out of their way to make the vacation a success.
We recommend them and this cabin without qualification and plan to return.

5 5 étoiles La réservation a-t-elle été facile ? 5 5 étoiles L'itinéraire donné était-il correct ?
5 5 étoiles La remise des clés/l'accès à la location ont-ils été faciles ? 5 5 étoiles État général de la location
5 5 étoiles Literie 4 5 étoiles Cuisine et ustensiles
4 5 étoiles Propreté de la salle de bains 5 5 étoiles Service
Le plus apprécié: Location and their helpfulness
Compagnons de voyage : époux(se)/partenaire
Recommanderiez-vous cet hôtel à un ami ?    Oui.
Recommandé pour:
Groupe d'amis Voyageurs seniors
  • La location était-elle conforme à l'annonce ?
  • Recommanderiez-vous cette location ?
  • Le rapport qualité-prix était-il bon ?
  • La location était-elle équipée d'un accès Internet ?
  • Votre caution vous a-t-elle été restituée dans les délais prévus ?
Cet avis vous a-t-il été utile ? Oui
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un membre de TripAdvisor et non de TripAdvisor LLC.
Intéressé(e) par cet établissement ?
Faire une demande
RCBSLB
Templeton, California
Auteur de niveau
3 avis
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 votes utiles
“Paradise Found”
5 5 étoiles Avis écrit le 4 février 2013 Séjour en octobre 2012
Google Traduction
2
personnes ont trouvé cet avis utile

If you are looking for an experience of a lifetime you will find it here at Castaway on North Beach!

My wife and I have stayed on Provo many times and decided to explore the beautiful little island of Salt Cay on our last vacation. I searched Salt Cay for accommodations and decided Castaway looked like the perfect spot. To sum up our experience, you will get great accommodations and attentive customer service on one of the most pristine beaches in the Turks and Caicos Islands. Castaway consists of 2 duplex studios that have basic accommodations (no TV or air conditioning) that are both clean and comfortable. If you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of your life then this is the place to come and unwind.

Reservations were made through Porter’s Island Thyme ( www.islandthyme.tc )which was very easy. The owners, Porter and Haidee Williams, were wonderful to work with and made sure all our answers and needs were taken care of before we arrived. After arriving on the island we were picked up by Porter in his buggy and taken to Castaway on North Beach. Castaway is a good distance from the center of town so I would recommend reserving either bicycles or a buggy to get around.

There is a caretakers’ cottage next to Castaway so there is always someone around should you need assistance. The caretakers for Castaway are Kazi and Lali. They attend to all your needs during the stay, including a daily cleaning of your accommodations.
During your stay on the island you will most likely eat at Island Thyme Bistro which serves up some incredible dishes. The food is very good and the atmosphere is like no other. There is the usual crowd from the island along with visitors, who can enjoy open air dining next to the salt ponds or tables inside next to the bar. Lali (one of the caretakers for Castaway) cooks for the restaurant and you will meet Apol who handles many of the operational duties when Porter or Haidee are away. Everyone is very nice and accommodating.

My wife and I also ate one night at Pat’s Place which is a restaurant at Pat’s home. This was a unique experience because it was like being invited into someone’s home for an incredible meal. Pat was fantastic and her food was wonderful. Make sure to try her famous Cracked Conch with jelly, something I wish I could have tonight!

All in all this was a wonderful experience and I would recommend Castaway as a great get away.

5 5 étoiles La réservation a-t-elle été facile ? 5 5 étoiles L'itinéraire donné était-il correct ?
5 5 étoiles La remise des clés/l'accès à la location ont-ils été faciles ? 4 5 étoiles État général de la location
5 5 étoiles Literie 4 5 étoiles Cuisine et ustensiles
5 5 étoiles Propreté de la salle de bains 5 5 étoiles Service
Le plus apprécié: The customer service
Le moins apprécié: No air conditioning (but trade winds were pretty good anyways!)
Compagnons de voyage : époux(se)/partenaire
Recommanderiez-vous cet hôtel à un ami ?    Oui.
Recommandé pour:
Groupe d'amis
  • La location était-elle conforme à l'annonce ?
  • Recommanderiez-vous cette location ?
  • Le rapport qualité-prix était-il bon ?
Cet avis vous a-t-il été utile ? Oui
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un membre de TripAdvisor et non de TripAdvisor LLC.
Réponse de la direction
04 févr. 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your time on Salt Cay. It's a little piece of paradise, and we love it when our guests see all the reasons we've come to call this our home. We welcome you back next time you feel the beach calling...or maybe it will be Miss Pat's cracked conch that will be calling...either way...welcome back home! Haidee & Porter
Cette réponse est l'opinion subjective du représentant de la direction et non de TripAdvisor LLC
Intéressé(e) par cet établissement ?
Faire une demande
handymank...
Seymour, Connecticut
1 avis
“Just what the doctor ordered.”
4 5 étoiles Avis écrit le 23 novembre 2012 Séjour en novembre 2012
Google Traduction

QUIET,stress free,beautiful,hidden.My wife and I stayed in November and it is just what I needed.Diving was fantastic (Thanks Craig,from Salt Cay divers)Trip will be talked about and remain a great experience for a lifetime.Pricey, but to be expected since EVERYTHING has to be brought in.Was worth the cost all day long.Locals can be a little "much" sometimes.Porters are Great and feel like old Friends.People are super friendly and its just a gorgeous piece of Earth.Will defiantly try to return one day.Felt like a big shot with the great service.Thanks to Lolly and staff also.Awesome cook,great massages,and fun to talk with.One of the most beautiful beaches Ive ever stepped foot on, and it was all to ourselves.Super reefs right in front of room.Lots of little nooks to explore.(Def. rent a buggy)It was "just what the doctor ordered" Peace and relaxing,stress relieving,stay.Thanks Island Thyme.

5 5 étoiles La réservation a-t-elle été facile ? 4 5 étoiles L'itinéraire donné était-il correct ?
5 5 étoiles La remise des clés/l'accès à la location ont-ils été faciles ? 4 5 étoiles État général de la location
4 5 étoiles Literie 4 5 étoiles Cuisine et ustensiles
4 5 étoiles Propreté de la salle de bains 4 5 étoiles Autres équipements
5 5 étoiles Service
Le plus apprécié: Location
Le moins apprécié: sliding screen doors
Compagnons de voyage : époux(se)/partenaire
Recommanderiez-vous cet hôtel à un ami ?    Oui.
Recommandé pour:
Groupe d'amis Voyageurs seniors
  • La location était-elle conforme à l'annonce ?
  • Recommanderiez-vous cette location ?
  • Le rapport qualité-prix était-il bon ?
  • La location était-elle équipée d'un accès Internet ?
Cet avis vous a-t-il été utile ? Oui
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un membre de TripAdvisor et non de TripAdvisor LLC.
Réponse de la direction
22 nov. 2012
We really enjoyed your visit and hope you WILL return one day. You experienced all the best that Salt Cay has to offer...with only one little exception. You should return when the humpback whales are here---then, can add swimming with the whales to your list of memories of Salt Cay. Happy Holidays to you and the whole family! Best, Haidee & Porter
Cette réponse est l'opinion subjective du représentant de la direction et non de TripAdvisor LLC
Intéressé(e) par cet établissement ?
Faire une demande
travelage...
Brighton, Canada
Auteur de niveau
2 avis
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 votes utiles
“Paradise Found on the island that time forgot”
5 5 étoiles Avis écrit le 10 mars 2012 Séjour en février 2012
Google Traduction
2
personnes ont trouvé cet avis utile

Our recent trip to Salt Cay a month ago still has me wishing that we were still there. Salt Cay is not a lush, beautiful tropical island, but there is something about it that makes you want a longer vacation!

Castaway is probably one of the nicest rentals we've ever stayed at. The location and the view can't be beat. It's the only accomodation available on the beautiful north beach. A really comfortable king size bed is on a raised floor with a view you can't beat. Off the bedroom is a good sized closet area and the bathroom with shower only. Step down from the bedroom area and there is a little sitting area with 2 love-seat couches and several books and magazines about Salt Cay and the rest of the Turks and Caicos Islands. This sitting room opens to the kitchen, complete with convection microwave oven, stovetop and full sized fridge.

There are 2 sets of french doors which allow a nice breeze to keep the place at a nice temperature. There are screens on the door, however we did have some problems with the screens staying closed. As it turns out it wasn't an issue...the only bugs we saw were little butterflies and they never ventured into our little suite. We kept the doors open all day and night and no bug problems at all - very unexpected and a very pleasant surprise.

Note: no TV or internet access in the suite. You can sit on the caretakers back step and access his internet. I preferred to take my computer to town and use it at the restaurants.

Our suite was cleaned every day - including our dishes. I was not expecting this so it was a major bonus!

The beach is amazing. We explored many different sites from right in front of Castaways, all the way to the NW tip of the island. The water was pretty rough for a few days of our stay, so it was difficult to get in and out of the water. There is a bit of a drop into the water, so on these rough days, it would not be safe for young children. However, the first couple days of our trip and the last couple were just gorgeous. We hiked up to the top of the bluffs for an amazing view of the whole island - and all of the surrounding cays.

We opted to rent bicycles for our week long stay. Initially, on our ride from the airport we were thinking that maybe it was a mistake. But, we found that despite the bumpy roads and lack of street lights, we really enjoyed riding our bikes around the island. It was like an added adventure. Our bikes were equipped with a flashlight that we could use as headlights during our evening travels to and from "town". The extra exercise kept us burning the calories from all of our great meals at both Porters and the Coral Reef Bar and Grill.

The highlite of our trip was a whalewatching trip with Crystal Seas Adventures. We had an amazing in water encounter with a humpback whale and her calf. I've posted a couple of video clips on yo tube - search for humpback whale swim Salt Cay and I'm sure you'll find it.

We also went diving with Tim of Crystal Seas. Due to rough seas, we were only able to get out diving 1 day. We made the most of it and did a 2-tank morning dive plus a night dive. One stretch of the reef on the south end of the island is really beautiful - very nice and healthy corals. The night dive was great - we saw a lot of the usual night-time critters.

As mentioned, we had amazing meals at both Porter's Island Thyme and the Coral Reef Bar and Grill. We love the outside seating at Coral Reef during the day. You can usually spot some whales passing by at some point each day. The best key lime pie ever - not to mention the peanut butter one too. Amazing lobster meal with yummy garlic mashed potatoes. Many evenings, Porters has special activities going on....Bingo night, poker night, etc. Most nights there was someone aspiring to be a zookeeper or to get their name on the wall! Very entertaining.

So what is it about Salt Cay that lingers in my mind and makes me daydream about going back? I think it is just the fact that everyone...locals and tourists alike were all super laid back and enjoying themselves. It's hard to put my finger on it. I've been to lots of places that I've loved the accomodations, food, experience, etc. But something about this tiny little island is calling me back. It's just a good fit for me, I guess.

As a travel professional I know this place isn't for everyone, but if you want to have the opportunity for great wildlife encounters, don't like huge resorts, and don't mind preparing a few meals for yourself or driving/biking or walking into town, it is worth visiting!

5 5 étoiles La réservation a-t-elle été facile ? 5 5 étoiles L'itinéraire donné était-il correct ?
5 5 étoiles La remise des clés/l'accès à la location ont-ils été faciles ? 5 5 étoiles État général de la location
5 5 étoiles Literie 4 5 étoiles Cuisine et ustensiles
5 5 étoiles Propreté de la salle de bains 5 5 étoiles Service
Le plus apprécié: location - off the beaten path, view
Le moins apprécié: weather for a couple days - impacted ability for boats to exit the harbour; could see the cruise ships in port at Grand Turk
Compagnons de voyage : With Spouse/Partner
Votre tranche d'âge 35-49
Recommanderiez-vous cet hôtel à un ami ?    Oui.
Recommandé pour:
Familles avec jeunes enfants
  • La location était-elle conforme à l'annonce ?
  • Recommanderiez-vous cette location ?
  • Le rapport qualité-prix était-il bon ?
Cet avis vous a-t-il été utile ? Oui
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un membre de TripAdvisor et non de TripAdvisor LLC.
Réponse de la direction
09 mars 2012
It was great to have you as our guest and we look forward to your return. It means so much to us when guests are able to experience both the beauty of the island and the friendliness of the community that welcomes you back again and again. Hope we see you on Salt Cay again soon!
Cette réponse est l'opinion subjective du représentant de la direction et non de TripAdvisor LLC
Intéressé(e) par cet établissement ?
Faire une demande
Un voyageur authentifié par FlipKey
Providenciales
5 5 étoiles Avis écrit le 29 juillet 2011 Séjour en juillet 2011
Google Traduction
4
personnes ont trouvé cet avis utile
Compagnons de voyage : Family with young children
Votre tranche d'âge 45-54
Recommanderais-je cette Location de vacances à mon meilleur ami?  
Cet avis vous a-t-il été utile ? Oui
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un voyageur et non de TripAdvisor LLC ou de ses partenaires.
Intéressé(e) par cet établissement ?
Faire une demande
mlm1023
Grand Turk
Auteur de niveau
27 avis
9 avis sur les hôtels
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 votes utiles
“Tranquility on a charming, friendly island”
5 5 étoiles Avis écrit le 18 juillet 2011 Séjour en juillet 2011
Google Traduction
2
personnes ont trouvé cet avis utile

A friend who has been coming to Salt Cay, Turks and Caicos, for years suggested we stay at these delightful twin cottages managed by hospitable Salt Cay couple Porter and Haidee Williams. We took her advice and spent an unforgettable weekend there in July with two children (7 and 10).

Haidee picked us up at the tiny airport (we flew in from Grand Turk on Caicos Express airways who also offer flights from Providenciales) and had our golf buggy ready for us. We followed her directions (see below for exact location) and easily found Castaways about a five minute drive north from the airport. We were blown away by the setting and the quality of the newly built cottages. We found ourselves in splendid isolation on a stunning beach (known locally as North Beach) in the north part of the island. The surroundings were simply perfect for us.

Each cottage was divided into two airy one bedroom studios with a porch overlooking the turquoise sea. The kitchen was well equipped with a full-sized fridge, microwave, stove and (joy!) a capsule coffee maker. The king size beds were divine.

We enjoyed incredible snorkeling just a short walk away in crystal clear aquamarine water, took beach walks, sunbathed and completely relaxed. We had the entire beach to ourselves.

As gorgeous as our surroundings and accommodations were, our experience was made truly unforgettable by the wonderful couple who manage the property, Haidee and Porter. They are affable, charming hosts who manage several rental properties on the island, and also run a restaurant and bar called Porter's Island Thyme. "Porter's" as it is affectionately known, turns out to be the social centre of the island with bingo, poker and basketball nights well attended by locals and visitors, adding to the friendly vibe. The food is truly excellent. We loved the house specialty, almond crusted snapper. The bar is well stocked and full of fascinating artifacts and strange-looking concoctions that may or may not be good for you. Porter creates a divine mojito (highly recommended and definitely good for you), and several fun virgin cocktails for the kids. Watch out though for something called "the Wolf" which sensible folk should avoid. if Porter ever offers you a free sample of this elixir, you should run for the hills (or salinas). It definitely seemed to unlock the inner wolf in those who were brave enough to try it. It is all in good fun though.

We loved Salt Cay and will definitely return to stay at the Castaway cottages.

About Salt Cay: The island is like a time capsule, which has not been reached by the modern world yet. There are only 60 residents. A large part of the island is covered with salinas (salt ponds) that were built in the 1700's but are now long out of use except by a wide variety of birds (stilts, terns, ospreys, pelicans, egrets and herons). A spiderweb of back roads provide access to many secluded corners of the island if you have a golf buggy (highly recommended). There are several quaint and well-kept churches, tiny convenience stores with basic groceries, and tiny restaurants. We suggest you shop in advance on Grand Turk or Provo and bring a cooler with as much of your own fresh food as you can manage to the island as the stores here sell mostly canned and boxed goods and you will want to cook your own meals some of the time.

What's good: The location of Castways is unsurpassed. The cottages are impeccably kept, clean and fresh with comfy king-sized beds. The kitchen is well equipped. The island is loads of fun to explore and spend time on. The hosts really understand how to make people of all ages feel welcome and comfortable. Our children were very well treated and were glowing with happiness the whole weekend.

What's not: It is a bit expensive (golf buggies are $75-100/day, dinner for two at Porters with a glass of wine each will set you back about $100). You cannot get fresh groceries easily on the island. We lost electricity for a short time one morning but didn't suffer any inconvenience. There are some sand flies and mosquitoes. Insect repellent is probably a necessity, at least in Summer. There is no air conditioning -- we found we didn't need it though as a constant easterly breeze kept us cool at night.

Exact location (Lat/Lon): 21 20' 31" N / 71 11' 45" W

4 5 étoiles Rapport qualité / prix 5 5 étoiles Chambres
5 5 étoiles Emplacement 5 5 étoiles Propreté
5 5 étoiles Réception 5 5 étoiles Service
Compagnons de voyage : Famille avec jeunes enfants
Votre tranche d'âge 35-49
Recommanderiez-vous cet hôtel à un ami ?    Oui.
Recommandé pour:
Groupe d'amis Pour les amoureux
Voyageurs seniors Familles avec jeunes enfants
Familles avec adolescents Voyageurs endurcis
Cet avis vous a-t-il été utile ? Oui
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un membre de TripAdvisor et non de TripAdvisor LLC.
Intéressé(e) par cet établissement ?
Faire une demande
Arrivée
Départ
Occupants
à partir de
USD 349
/
Nuit
Semaine
Le propriétaire peut appliquer des frais supplémentaires
Faire une demande
Gérant
Haidee W
Parle Anglais
Inscription : avr. 2011
Taux de réponse: 55 %
Délai de réponse: en deux jours
Calendrier mis à jour: il y a 75 jours
Possédez-vous une location de vacances ? Inscrivez-la ici.
Les annonces sont gratuites !
Ajoutez votre location de vacances sur TripAdvisor et Holiday Lettings sans frais. Vous payez seulement 3 % de commission sur chaque réservation confirmée et payée.
Protégez votre vie privée
TripAdvisor communique vos coordonnées à vos locataires uniquement après que le premier paiement a été effectué.
Augmentez votre visibilité
Faites la promotion de votre logement auprès des voyageurs du monde entier qui recherchent activement une location dans votre secteur chaque mois.
Configurez votre annonce gratuite