Nous avons remarqué que vous utilisez un navigateur non reconnu. Il se peut que les pages de TripAdvisor ne s'affichent pas correctement.
Notre site est optimisé pour les navigateurs suivants:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chy Lowenna, cosy stone cottage by the sea

Marazion
|
Logement à louer – 
2 Chambres, 1 salle de bains, 4 couchages

Avis des voyageurs TripAdvisor

Contribuez à la communauté de voyageurs TripAdvisor et aidez les autres voyageurs à trouver la location de vacances parfaite
Écrivez un avis

Avis des voyageurs TripAdvisor

Date | Note
  • Anglais en 1er
  • Français en 1er
  • Toutes
  • Derniers résultats en français
Français en 1er
CocoLoco2...
Cambs, UK
Auteur de niveau
8 avis
4 avis sur les hôtels
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 votes utiles
“Great cottage in fabulous location”
5 5 étoiles Avis écrit le 7 janvier 2014 Séjour en décembre 2013
Google Traduction

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this lovely cosy cottage. There were four of us - all adults - staying in Chy Lowenna, together with our springer spaniel, and whilst the cottage was small downstairs it was very comfortable and we never felt cramped.

The kitchen was fully equipped and everything seemed to have been thought of to make our stay comfortable. The breakfast bar seated the four of us quite comfortably for dinner on the couple of occasions we dined in and the lounge area has two 2 seater sofas.

The 1st floor bedroom has a zip and link bed which when joined doesnt leave a lot of room to spare but is adequate and the top floor bedroom is huge with a king size bed and a view of the sea.

All in all, we would definitely recommend this cosy cottage to small families or 2 couples and Marazion is delightful with a 1 minute walk to the beach from the cottage.

The new owner Peter was extremely helpful both with facilities in the cottage and information on Marazion and his recommendations of the Kings Arms and Bens Cornish Kitchen for dinner were excellent. A must visit is the deli opposite the cottage which offers wonderful food and friendly service.

As dog owners, we were very pleased that the pubs and the deli are dog fiendly.

One note of caution to tall people - beware the low ceilings in the cottage as they caught my hubby out quite a few times - ouch!

5 5 étoiles La réservation a-t-elle été facile ? 4 5 étoiles L'itinéraire donné était-il correct ?
4 5 étoiles La remise des clés/l'accès à la location ont-ils été faciles ? 4 5 étoiles État général de la location
4 5 étoiles Literie 4 5 étoiles Cuisine et ustensiles
4 5 étoiles Propreté de la salle de bains 4 5 étoiles Autres équipements
5 5 étoiles Service
Le plus apprécié: The top floor bedroom
Le moins apprécié: My hubby would say low ceilings!
Compagnons de voyage : Amis
Recommanderiez-vous cet hôtel à un ami ?    Oui.
Recommandé pour:
Groupe d'amis Familles avec jeunes enfants
Personnes avec des animaux de compagnie
  • La location était-elle conforme à l'annonce ?
  • Recommanderiez-vous cette location ?
  • Le rapport qualité-prix était-il bon ?
  • La location était-elle équipée d'un accès Internet ?
Cet avis vous a-t-il été utile ? Oui
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un membre de TripAdvisor et non de TripAdvisor LLC.
Intéressé(e) par cet établissement ?
Faire une demande
Andy W
High Peak
1 avis
“lovely little cottage”
5 5 étoiles Avis écrit le 16 octobre 2013 Séjour en septembre 2013
Google Traduction

We enjoyed our stay at Chy Lowenna, it was like home from home, the beds were comfy, the bathroom was very clean & the kitchen & lounge areas were very good. We ate out at the godolphin pub a couple of times & found it to be a nice, friendly place. Its worth having a walk over to St. michaels mount, but don't let the tide catch you out or you will have to get the boat back!. All in all a lovely holiday & we would stay at Chy Lowenna again.

5 5 étoiles La réservation a-t-elle été facile ? 5 5 étoiles L'itinéraire donné était-il correct ?
5 5 étoiles La remise des clés/l'accès à la location ont-ils été faciles ? 5 5 étoiles État général de la location
5 5 étoiles Literie 5 5 étoiles Cuisine et ustensiles
5 5 étoiles Propreté de la salle de bains 5 5 étoiles Autres équipements
5 5 étoiles Service
Le plus apprécié: the general outlay of the property-very cosy.
Le moins apprécié: coming home!
Compagnons de voyage : Famille élargie
Recommanderiez-vous cet hôtel à un ami ?    Oui.
Recommandé pour:
Groupe d'amis Voyageurs seniors
Familles avec jeunes enfants Personnes avec des animaux de compagnie
  • La location était-elle conforme à l'annonce ?
  • Recommanderiez-vous cette location ?
  • Le rapport qualité-prix était-il bon ?
Cet avis vous a-t-il été utile ? Oui
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un membre de TripAdvisor et non de TripAdvisor LLC.
Intéressé(e) par cet établissement ?
Faire une demande
GILL M
Halberton
Auteur de niveau
2 avis
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 vote utile
“Beautiful Cottage”
5 5 étoiles Avis écrit le 17 décembre 2012 Séjour en décembre 2012
Google Traduction

We stayed at Chy Lowenna for 3 nights. The owners were very hospitable due to short notice requirement (family funeral).
It is a lovely cottage with very easy access to the shops and beaches (which our dog loved). The pubs are very good especially the Godolphin. Further afield, the Coach & Horses (5 mins drive) and the Victoria Inn (5 mins drive).
Facilites in the cottage are fantastic and we love the kitchen area. The main bedroom upstairs is fantastic. Watch out for the twin room door - it shuts on itself, which our dog found out when she went on a wander through the house. We thought she had been dognapped!
Thoroughly enjoyable cottage and we will be back - thank you Julia and Damon :)

5 5 étoiles La réservation a-t-elle été facile ? 5 5 étoiles L'itinéraire donné était-il correct ?
5 5 étoiles La remise des clés/l'accès à la location ont-ils été faciles ? 5 5 étoiles État général de la location
5 5 étoiles Literie 5 5 étoiles Cuisine et ustensiles
5 5 étoiles Propreté de la salle de bains 5 5 étoiles Autres équipements
5 5 étoiles Service
Le plus apprécié: Location
Le moins apprécié: Nothing!!
Compagnons de voyage : époux(se)/partenaire
Recommanderiez-vous cet hôtel à un ami ?    Oui.
Recommandé pour:
Groupe d'amis Personnes avec des animaux de compagnie
  • La location était-elle conforme à l'annonce ?
  • Recommanderiez-vous cette location ?
  • Le rapport qualité-prix était-il bon ?
  • La location était-elle équipée d'un accès Internet ?
Cet avis vous a-t-il été utile ? Oui
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un membre de TripAdvisor et non de TripAdvisor LLC.
Intéressé(e) par cet établissement ?
Faire une demande
christine...
Nottingham, Royaume-Uni
1 avis
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 vote utile
“A lovely,comfortable,light cottage,with very thoughtful touches.”
5 5 étoiles Avis écrit le 27 octobre 2012 Séjour en octobre 2012
Google Traduction
1
personne ont trouvé cet avis utile

On arrival,to be greeted by the living room lights on was a welcoming touch,but the huge vase of beautiful flowers and the Cornish cream tea was the icing on the cake,very thoughtful of the friendly owners.The accommodation was light and airy and the facilities good.Bed sheets were of good quality and the property stayed warm throughout my weeks stay.It's very quiet at night so sleeping was never a problem.
Having a Deli across the road was very handy and their meals and cakes are lush.Altogether a cottage to be highly recommended,excellent value for money.

5 5 étoiles La réservation a-t-elle été facile ? 5 5 étoiles L'itinéraire donné était-il correct ?
5 5 étoiles La remise des clés/l'accès à la location ont-ils été faciles ? 5 5 étoiles État général de la location
5 5 étoiles Literie 5 5 étoiles Cuisine et ustensiles
5 5 étoiles Propreté de la salle de bains 5 5 étoiles Autres équipements
5 5 étoiles Service
Le plus apprécié: The condition of the property,well furnished and well decorated
Le moins apprécié: The lack of light over the mirror in the bathroom.
Compagnons de voyage : Voyageur solo
Recommanderiez-vous cet hôtel à un ami ?    Oui.
Recommandé pour:
Voyageurs seniors Familles avec jeunes enfants
  • La location était-elle conforme à l'annonce ?
  • Recommanderiez-vous cette location ?
  • Le rapport qualité-prix était-il bon ?
  • La location était-elle équipée d'un accès Internet ?
Cet avis vous a-t-il été utile ? Oui
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un membre de TripAdvisor et non de TripAdvisor LLC.
Intéressé(e) par cet établissement ?
Faire une demande
suecousin...
Rotherham, Royaume-Uni
1 avis
“holiday”
2 5 étoiles Avis écrit le 28 août 2012 Séjour en août 2012
Google Traduction

Got to cottage made a drink went to wash cups no washing up liquid it stated there would be some,then when i had showered only tiny mirror to dry hair &do make up. the lack of mirrors was a bug bear, also no toilel brush. the seating area was poor. & having to pull table out with 1 castor always falling off was a pain.

4 5 étoiles La réservation a-t-elle été facile ? 2 5 étoiles L'itinéraire donné était-il correct ?
5 5 étoiles La remise des clés/l'accès à la location ont-ils été faciles ? 3 5 étoiles État général de la location
4 5 étoiles Literie 2 5 étoiles Cuisine et ustensiles
4 5 étoiles Propreté de la salle de bains 4 5 étoiles Autres équipements
3 5 étoiles Service
Le plus apprécié: comfortable beds
Le moins apprécié: outdoor seating
Compagnons de voyage : époux(se)/partenaire
Recommanderiez-vous cet hôtel à un ami ?    No.
  • La location était-elle équipée d'un accès Internet ?
Cet avis vous a-t-il été utile ? Oui
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un membre de TripAdvisor et non de TripAdvisor LLC.
Réponse de la direction
01 août 2014
**New owners from December 2013.

Thx for your review. We bought Chy Lowenna since your visit and thought you might appreciate a response. We have changed the dining area now - the breakfast bar has been extended and has four bar stools. The cottage is small so really no room for a dining table but we hope this is now a usable area to allow four guests to eat together.

New mirror :-) and Hazel, the new housekeeper checks there is washing up liquid, a couple of loo rolls to see you through to your first shopping trip.

Oh and a new, larger TV and a DVD player.

We hope we can welcome you back to our cottage again (if you search for our own web site you'll see more photos and details).

Peter & Sally
Cette réponse est l'opinion subjective du représentant de la direction et non de TripAdvisor LLC
Intéressé(e) par cet établissement ?
Faire une demande
AnyDenney
Reading, Berkshire
Auteur de niveau
9 avis
5 avis sur les hôtels
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 votes utiles
“Well appointed, comfortable, bijou cottage in a lovely town. However, just beware the road!”
4 5 étoiles Avis écrit le 14 juin 2012 Séjour en mai 2012
Google Traduction
2
personnes ont trouvé cet avis utile

First of all, I must say that this is a beautiful holiday cottage. Although very small (it is totally deserving of the term 'bijou' because it never felt cramped, just small and well formed like it was meant to be that way!), it's well appointed, really comfortable inside (lovely bed in the main bedroom!) with good facilities and is in a brilliant location for exploring Marazion (literally about 2 minutes walk from the beach and the centre of town and across the road from a great deli which does one of the best full English breakfasts I've ever had) and the rest of South West Cornwall.

We had a really easy booking experience, the owners were helpful during the booking and also very responsive to our emails and calls both before and during our stay. They even very helpfully dealt with the rubbish bags we left because we missed the collection. We had no problems finding the place or the parking and no problems at all on arrival. They key was ready and we just walked right in and immediately felt relaxed, possibly helped by the complementary bottle of wine in the fridge...!

Some reviewers have mentioned the fact that it's noisy inside which it wasn't necessarily, it's just a 200 year old cottage so there are bound to be creaks and scrapes here and there and you can hear the toilet flushing from downstairs etc. Hardly worth mentioning. Also, the parking space is clearly stated as being 100m away which is fine day to day, and if you need to load/unload the car then just park in the road and stick the hazards on - that's what we did when we arrived at the beginning and left at the end!

On the downside...

There's no garden to speak of (you have to go outside the cottage, along a shared courtyard, up some steps and across a neighbour's seating area to get to the seating area, which is only just big enough for table and chairs). This certainly isn't made clear on the website, which makes it look as though the terrace is attached to the house. It's not a huge problem and not one to stop me recommending this place, but I think if we'd had another child or older kids, we would have really noticed the lack of an outside space.

The other issue (and this is a real shame and the reason I can't rate this rental as excellent although it wouldn't have bothered me too much if we didn't have a child with us) is the proximity not just to a 'road' but to the main road through Marazion. It's not a dual carriageway or anything, and isn't a really busy road, but it has traffic using it in varying degrees throughout the day. Traffic is cars, lorries, buses and motorbikes. And when I say 'proximity', I mean it's literally on the doorstep because the pavement (which you walk straight onto through the front door) is only just wide enough for one person to walk on. There are traffic calming measures in Marazion (they have chicanes) so the traffic isn't fast, but you must just be really careful. I would say if you have kids, be REALLY careful (and to be fair, this isn't advertised specifically as a child-friendly cottage). We had to make sure we kept the front door locked and always went out first and always held our daughter's hand by the road.

In summary, a really lovely, comfortable, bijou cottage, with courteous owners and in a beautiful little town. It's really only let down only really by proximity to the road, and if that sort of thing doesn't bother you then I would totally recommend it. I would also definitely recommend this cottage to friends and family, but not to those with kids due to the lack of outside area attached to the cottage and the proximity of the main road.

5 5 étoiles La réservation a-t-elle été facile ? 4 5 étoiles L'itinéraire donné était-il correct ?
5 5 étoiles La remise des clés/l'accès à la location ont-ils été faciles ? 5 5 étoiles État général de la location
5 5 étoiles Literie 3 5 étoiles Cuisine et ustensiles
5 5 étoiles Propreté de la salle de bains 4 5 étoiles Autres équipements
4 5 étoiles Service
Le plus apprécié: Condition of the property, facilities and central location.
Le moins apprécié: Lack of garden / outside area attached directly to cottage (should state that on the website) and close proximity to main road.
Compagnons de voyage : Famille avec jeunes enfants
Votre tranche d'âge 35-49
Recommanderiez-vous cet hôtel à un ami ?    Oui.
Recommandé pour:
Groupe d'amis
  • La location était-elle conforme à l'annonce ?
  • Recommanderiez-vous cette location ?
  • Le rapport qualité-prix était-il bon ?
  • La location était-elle équipée d'un accès Internet ?
Cet avis vous a-t-il été utile ? Oui
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un membre de TripAdvisor et non de TripAdvisor LLC.
Intéressé(e) par cet établissement ?
Faire une demande
flossyfiz...
Melbourne
Auteur de niveau
122 avis
41 avis sur les hôtels
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 votes utiles
“Great location, tiny house”
3 5 étoiles Avis écrit le 7 juin 2012 Séjour en mai 2012
Google Traduction
1
personne ont trouvé cet avis utile

We stayed here for four nights (although paid for a week, as part-weeks were not available to us).

We found booking relatively simple, however the instructions on getting there were scant (it is just across the road and up a little from the church) and the parking was further up behind St Michael's B&B. Although we were grateful for the parking, it was not explained to us that it would be some distance, and a tight squeeze into the bargain (we had hired a Volvo XC-90). Four large suitcases and bags were a hassle to unload and load back up.

The house was clean and well-presented, but is very, very small - certainly for four adults.

The walls are thin, and you can hear everything from everywhere, from the loud flushing of the toilet, to the tv (even on low) in the top bedroom, as it has no door.

It was also a bit off-putting that the mattress protector on the main double bed was thin plastic (do places really have that many difficulties with incontinent guests?!) that crackled every time you moved. A comfy bed-topper wouldn't go astray.

It may seem obvious (possibly to UK residents) that you need to turn the oven on at the wall first, and the way a front-loader works, but if you are from another country, these things are often unfamiliar and detailed instructions are helpful.

We felt that a roll and a half of toilet-paper for four adults for a week was a little on the frugal side, and sure enough, needed to purchase additional, and nearly had to buy pegs as well, for there were only a few remaining on the clothes line.

I was unaware that the house was no longer connected with St Michael's B&B, and had organised a small parcel to be delivered to that address. At every turn, the B&B owner was friendly, helpful (including helping us find it in the first place!) and in the end we had more contact with them than the guest house owners!

He was the one that gave us the heads up on the Minack Theatre. If you're staying in the area, put it on your "Must Do" list, and be sure to take tasty food (the deli across the road from Chy Lowenna is good) and no matter how warm the day has been, pack blankets, scarves, hat and gloves.

The small (literally!) issues of the house aside, the local shops and the beach are literally within two minutes' walk from the front door, so as far as locations are concerned, Marazion was fabulous, but next time I'd choose something less "cosy", and look for somewhere that also took advantage of the fabulous views from the other side of the road.

4 5 étoiles La réservation a-t-elle été facile ? 2 5 étoiles L'itinéraire donné était-il correct ?
3 5 étoiles La remise des clés/l'accès à la location ont-ils été faciles ? 4 5 étoiles État général de la location
3 5 étoiles Literie 4 5 étoiles Cuisine et ustensiles
4 5 étoiles Propreté de la salle de bains 3 5 étoiles Autres équipements
3 5 étoiles Service
Le plus apprécié: The location
Le moins apprécié: The size
Compagnons de voyage : Famille élargie
Recommanderiez-vous cet hôtel à un ami ?    No.
  • La location était-elle conforme à l'annonce ?
Cet avis vous a-t-il été utile ? Oui
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un membre de TripAdvisor et non de TripAdvisor LLC.
Réponse de la direction
09 juin 2012
Thank you so much for staying at Chy Lowenna although it was too small for you, we thank you so much for your review which is graciously accepted.
Apologies for the issues that you had whilst you stayed, perhaps we should make the parking directions clearer as we do admit they only say parking 100m away and don't say you have to walk 100m to the cottage, in terms of the size of the parking space we are unfortunately governed by 'Cornish sizing' which as you may have guessed whilst you were here in Cornwall can be a little tighter than those elsewhere abroad. In terms of the size of the cottage, although the details state it is a small cottage we will add to that information for others, thank you so much for bringing that to our attention. Kind regards to you.
Cette réponse est l'opinion subjective du représentant de la direction et non de TripAdvisor LLC
Intéressé(e) par cet établissement ?
Faire une demande
Arrivée
Départ
Occupants
à partir de
USD 69
/
Nuit
Semaine
Demander la réservation
Sinon, envoyez un message au propriétaire
Envoyer un message
logement avec protection des paiements
Gérant
Peter L
Parle Anglais, Espagnol
Inscrite en : déc. 2009
Taux de réponse: 100 %
Délai de réponse: en quelques heures
Calendrier mis à jour: il y a 5 jours
Certificat de Sécurité
Vous êtes automatiquement couvert pour toute location de vacances réservée sur TripAdvisor !
En savoir plus
Possédez-vous une location de vacances ? Inscrivez-la ici.
Les annonces sont gratuites !
Ajoutez votre location de vacances sur TripAdvisor et Holiday Lettings sans frais. Vous payez seulement 3 % de commission sur chaque réservation confirmée et payée.
Protégez votre vie privée
TripAdvisor communique vos coordonnées à vos locataires uniquement après que le premier paiement a été effectué.
Augmentez votre visibilité
Faites la promotion de votre logement auprès des voyageurs du monde entier qui recherchent activement une location dans votre secteur chaque mois.
Configurez votre annonce gratuite