Kelmscott Manor
Kelmscott Manor
4.5
Musées spécialisésSites historiquesMusées d'art
De 10:30 à 17:00
Jeudi
10:30 - 17:00
Vendredi
10:30 - 17:00
Samedi
10:30 - 17:00
À propos
Durée : 2 à 3 heures
Suggérer des améliorations.
Améliorer cette page
Circuits et expériences
Parcourez différents moyens de découvrir cet endroit.
Qu'est-ce que Travellers' Choice ?
Tripadvisor remet un prix Travellers' Choice aux hébergements, attractions et restaurants qui reçoivent régulièrement de très bons avis de la part des voyageurs et qui sont classés parmi les meilleurs 10 % des établissements sur Tripadvisor.
Les revenus influencent le choix des expériences présentées sur cette page : en savoir plus.

Kelmscott Manor et attractions proches : les meilleures façons d'en profiter

La région
Adresse
Contact direct :

Contrôle des avis
Avant publication, chaque avis passe par notre système de suivi automatisé afin de contrôler s’il correspond à nos critères de publication. Si le système détecte un problème avec un avis, celui-ci est manuellement examiné par notre équipe de spécialistes de contenu, qui contrôle également tous les avis qui nous sont signalés après publication par notre communauté. Les avis sont affichés par ordre chronologique dans tous les classements.
4.5
4,5 sur 5 bulles405 avis
Excellent
252
Très bon
110
Moyen
30
Médiocre
7
Horrible
6

gfsc5
Perth, Australie1 769 contributions
4,0 sur 5 bulles
avr. 2024 • En couple
A great place to visit if you're a fan of William Morris of wallpaper, curtains, design fame. Lots and lots of examples throughout Kelmscott Manor where he lived with his family and, for a while, his wife's lover.

It's sort of timed entry but when we arrived for the opening - we had booked the time specifically - everyone who was around seemed to be given the ok to enter. They did try to restrict how many people went in at once but it clogged up in the first room.

There were volunteer guides in each room but they varied in quality. A couple seemed to be interested in only showing one person at a time, in detail, things of interest. There wasn't a lot of guide material if you wanted to explore things yourself, either.

A tad disappointing.

The grounds are fairly extensive and we had a good wander around them before the house opened. And the shop was very good. My wife spent a fortune.

An interesting place and an interesting story. It just could have been done a bit better in the house.
Écrit le 27 avril 2024
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un membre de Tripadvisor et non l'avis de Tripadvisor LLC. Les avis sont soumis à des vérifications de la part de Tripadvisor.

Gastrogran
Somerset, UK15 contributions
5,0 sur 5 bulles
sept. 2023 • Entre amis
The first time we had visited since the refurbishment. What a wonderful experience. The walk from the car park is a must (it does take about 10 minutes but is all on the flat) as it sets the scene for this remote manor farm in its unspoilt landscape. The absence of cars parked all around is a great joy. The garden is charming, slightly unkempt but productive (medlars and quinces when we visited). The sense of the Morris family is everywhere, their taste and talents, their socialist views, their humour and love of animals (see the lovely story boards in the old stable ). Much more is made of the Morris women now - which has been long overdue. Excellent shop and tea room. A buggy back to the car park - all a wondefully inspiring few hours. Thank you.
Écrit le 1 octobre 2023
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un membre de Tripadvisor et non l'avis de Tripadvisor LLC. Les avis sont soumis à des vérifications de la part de Tripadvisor.
Thank you for your five star review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and what we have achieved with the refurbishment. Over the next few years we will be highlighting more of May & Jane Morris so we hope you will return again in the future.
Écrit le 17 octobre 2023
Cette réponse est l'opinion subjective du gérant et non de Tripadvisor LLC.

Daryl C
25 contributions
4,0 sur 5 bulles
sept. 2023 • En famille
I`m a huge Morris/Arts & Crafts/ Pre Raphs fan, so having been to his birthplace in Walthamstow, Kelmscott House in Hammersmith, and The Red House in Bexleyheath, this was a must.
I can see why Morris chose Kelmscott Manor, it`s in a lovely setting, a short walk from the car park, which somehow adds to the experience. I had pre booked on-line and the pdf was scanned on arrival at my allotted time. I was not disappointed by the house and garden and the exhibits, and the guides were friendly and keen to share their knowledge. I would n`t have known where the Morris grave is for example ( in the churchyard by the carpark).
I really enjoyed my visit.
Écrit le 19 septembre 2023
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un membre de Tripadvisor et non l'avis de Tripadvisor LLC. Les avis sont soumis à des vérifications de la part de Tripadvisor.
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit.
Écrit le 17 octobre 2023
Cette réponse est l'opinion subjective du gérant et non de Tripadvisor LLC.

lambs1
Gainesville, Géorgie195 contributions
4,0 sur 5 bulles
sept. 2023 • En couple
Lovely spot, and was so interested to learn more about William Morris and his family and friends. My only complaint is it was so hard to see things in many of the rooms. They have to keep the light down to preserve the fabrics, but bring a flashlight.
Écrit le 15 septembre 2023
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un membre de Tripadvisor et non l'avis de Tripadvisor LLC. Les avis sont soumis à des vérifications de la part de Tripadvisor.
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit. We do have to keep the light in some rooms low in order to protect the collection but our stewards do have torches in those rooms to assist visitors. We will look at how we can inform visitors more easily of this.
Écrit le 17 octobre 2023
Cette réponse est l'opinion subjective du gérant et non de Tripadvisor LLC.

Mike Hughes
Mynydd Isa, UK189 contributions
3,0 sur 5 bulles
sept. 2023 • En couple
Beautiful Manor house set in a quiet rural location. Grounds have some lovely plants, and the house is 'ok'. If you go to the tearoom then be prepared to que up as there was only one drinks machine being operated by 3 people! Overall, it was a nice place, but I do not think it was worth the entrance fee.
Écrit le 9 septembre 2023
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un membre de Tripadvisor et non l'avis de Tripadvisor LLC. Les avis sont soumis à des vérifications de la part de Tripadvisor.
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that it didn't meet your expectations.
Écrit le 17 octobre 2023
Cette réponse est l'opinion subjective du gérant et non de Tripadvisor LLC.

Alison L
3 contributions
2,0 sur 5 bulles
sept. 2023 • En famille
When we arrived, the lady explained it would be an hour before we could enter the house. Seemed a bit odd and like she was explaining we might be bored. She was right. Very underwhelming gardens and small tea facilities with such a large queue we couldn’t be bothered. We sat for 45 minutes just waiting for house entry. Although beautiful outside, the inside is sparse and the blinds were down so it was too dark to see anything anyway. Not at all the experience we were expecting. Very disappointed.
Écrit le 7 septembre 2023
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un membre de Tripadvisor et non l'avis de Tripadvisor LLC. Les avis sont soumis à des vérifications de la part de Tripadvisor.
Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit. The Manor house has small rooms so we have to control the number of visitors in the house at any time. This is why you had to wait before seeing the house itself. The rooms have been laid out to reflect how they were when May Morris lived at the Manor using contemporary drawings, paintings and photographs where ever possible. We also have to control the light levels in the rooms to protect the collection, especially the unique fabrics. Our volunteer stewards in some rooms have torches to help see parts of the collection if you feel it is too dark.
Écrit le 17 octobre 2023
Cette réponse est l'opinion subjective du gérant et non de Tripadvisor LLC.

Patricia B
Borough of Brentwood, UK34 contributions
4,0 sur 5 bulles
août 2023 • Entre amis
We visited on a Wednesday as part of a Tour Group. A quality Lunch was laid on in the Barn as part of our organised visit. The home made biscuits for morning coffee were divine. The house is owned by the Society of Antiquaries and benefitted from a lottery grant to restore the legacy of William Morris. The tour guides are very knowledgeable about WM, his family and the Arts and Crafts movement. The garden where he drew his inspiration is free to explore. Situated in a small village there is car park a short stroll away with a free mini bus for those who require assistance. The family grave is in the Church yard near the Car Park. Kelmscott is well worth a visit if you are interested in Morris and by association the Pre Raphaelites. Everyone on site was keen to share their enthusiasm and there was a gift shop where I happily bought a Tea Towel Gift…100% Linen and Made in the UK.
Écrit le 27 août 2023
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un membre de Tripadvisor et non l'avis de Tripadvisor LLC. Les avis sont soumis à des vérifications de la part de Tripadvisor.
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your coach group visit.
Écrit le 17 octobre 2023
Cette réponse est l'opinion subjective du gérant et non de Tripadvisor LLC.

Patricia H
Birmingham, UK6 contributions
3,0 sur 5 bulles
juil. 2023 • En famille
Staff were welcoming and informative, and of course the exterior was as lovely as ever. But having visited several times in the past (all previous visits over ten years ago) I was profoundly disappointed by the changes that have been made to the interior. So much of the warmth I have always associated with Kelmscott Manor has been lost. I was told by the guides that the changes were made in order to comply with requirements for securing Heritage Lottery funding (which required it to be restored to reflect more closely how it would actually have looked when Morris lived there). That is all well and good, but as a result of the removal of so many of Morris & Co.'s wonderful artefacts, the spirit of what Morris was trying to achieve has somehow been lost. It has been rendered spartan, and there is no sense of its having been a 'lived in' house now at all, for me. A classic case of 'in striving to do better, oft we mar what's well,' alas!
Écrit le 1 juillet 2023
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un membre de Tripadvisor et non l'avis de Tripadvisor LLC. Les avis sont soumis à des vérifications de la part de Tripadvisor.
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with your visit as you felt that the interiors were not warm. As part of the reinterpretation of the rooms we have gone back to original sources to layout the spaces as they were when May Morris lived in the manor. This was then a family home and not a showcase of Morris and Co fabrics which you probably saw on your previous visits. We display the unique items from our collection which were handmade by William Morris, Rossetti, Jane & May Morris and others rather than the manufactured fabrics which can be found elsewhere. Contrary to what you were told, it was not a requirement for securing Heritage Lottery Funding but our decision to try to explain to our visitors what it was about Kelmscott and the surrounding landscape that inspired William, his family and associates.
Écrit le 17 octobre 2023
Cette réponse est l'opinion subjective du gérant et non de Tripadvisor LLC.

ronniesmum2018
Melbourne, Australie99 contributions
5,0 sur 5 bulles
mai 2023 • En couple
Heaven on earth. We picked a beautiful day, admittedly, but we loved the house with all the William Morris references, wallpaper, furniture, etc.

The cakes in the cafe were excellent - we had a proper Victoria sponge and lemon drizzle cake.

Oh, and the shop has some gorgeous items, too!
Écrit le 13 juin 2023
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un membre de Tripadvisor et non l'avis de Tripadvisor LLC. Les avis sont soumis à des vérifications de la part de Tripadvisor.
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit.
Écrit le 17 octobre 2023
Cette réponse est l'opinion subjective du gérant et non de Tripadvisor LLC.

Marisa R
18 contributions
5,0 sur 5 bulles
juin 2023
Lovely house restored to how it was when Morris and his family and their many friends lived there with the furniture, textiles and wallpapers used in the rooms. Staffed by friendly and knowledgeable volunteers who were happy to answer any questions. Definitely worth a visit, especially if you have an interest in the Arts & Crafts movement.
Écrit le 3 juin 2023
Cet avis est l'opinion subjective d'un membre de Tripadvisor et non l'avis de Tripadvisor LLC. Les avis sont soumis à des vérifications de la part de Tripadvisor.
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit.
Écrit le 17 octobre 2023
Cette réponse est l'opinion subjective du gérant et non de Tripadvisor LLC.

Résultats 1-10 sur 405
Les revenus influencent le choix des expériences présentées sur cette page : en savoir plus.
S'agit-il de votre page Tripadvisor ?
Vous possédez ou gérez cet établissement ? Prenez le contrôle de votre page pour répondre gratuitement aux avis, mettre à jour votre page et bien plus encore.
Prenez le contrôle de votre page

KELMSCOTT MANOR : Ce qu'il faut savoir pour votre visite (avec critiques)

RestaurantsVolsLocations vacancesRécits de voyageCroisièresVoitures de location